The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, by Holly Black

download

What I’d pay: $17

To sum it up: In a modern day world where vampires are common, a teenage girl gets bitten and has to go to the nearest Coldtown, where all the vampires are quarantined.

Wow, this book is awesome.

It is so intense from the very first page. I love the whole idea of the book: it is set in a modern world where vampires have increased in numbers and people now know they exist. Humans basically freaked out when vampires went public and they walled in areas of cities, called Coldtowns, that are essentially independent regions where vampires and some humans are confined. But the savvy vamps have turned this to their own benefit and are internet celebrities who stream video of their parties to entice people to come to Coldtowns… but the problem with Coldtowns is that once you get in, you can’t get out. These are not cute, cuddly vampires. They are nasty and violent and dangerous, despite their glamorous facades, which makes the book very exciting. The main character is a badass, for lack of a more appropriate term, and you just have to root for her from the first page. I don’t want to say much more about the plot because I don’t want to ruin any of it! This is a standalone book, however the ending leaves a lot to the imagination, and I’m probably not the only one who hopes Holly Black will write more in this world.

Bottomline: This book is exciting and truly creepy at times. The explanation and ideas for how vampirism fits into modern life are smart and believable, and the characters are interesting. Pick up this book if you like modern, urban fantasy or vampire books, this is a definite must-read in my opinion. Got it after a few weeks wait from the LA library but will probably buy it in the future!

4 comments

  1. Sounds pretty awesome! I like that the vampires are legit and will turn people…not like in Twilight when they are nice and almost human-like. I want some scare factor!!!!

  2. I recently added this book to my wishlist. Having read your review, I’m even more sold. I can’t wait to get my hands on this one. Thanks for sharing.
    Also, I’m new to your blog but just wanted to say that I love the way in which your rate your books – very unique.

Leave a Reply

