Top Ten Books That Made Me Love Reading

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, features why we love reading and blogging. I have always loved to read, so I’ve interpreted this as an opportunity to list the top books that made me love reading when I was younger. Here they are, from pure children’s books to some young adult literature.

Top 10 Books I love (3)

1. Corduroy by Don Freeman. A teddy bear needs a button and goes searching the store at night to find it!

2. Goodnight Moon, by Margaret Wise Brown. Such a simple, but perfect, bed time story.

3. The Very Quiet Cricket and The Very Hungry Caterpillar, by Eric Carle. Beautiful artwork and adorable animal characters make both of these books great, but the special effects in The Very Quiet Cricket made it a special favorite of mine.

4. The Giving Tree, by Shel Silverstein. This is such a beautiful story of love and friendship.

5. The Culdesac Kids, by Beverly Lewis. A group of neighborhood kids solve mysteries – I don’t remember much about this series except that I loved it when I was younger.

6. Nancy Drew Series, by Carolyn Keene. Mysteries were a favorite of mine when I was younger, and I owned most of the Nancy Drew series so I could read and re-read whenever I wanted.

7. Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes, by Eleanor Coerr. This was the first book I ever read that made me cry.  It is sad, but there’s a lot of hope in it as well.

8. The Chronicles of Narnia, C.S. Lewis. This is a great fantasy series, and though I enjoyed all of the books, The Magician’s Nephew was my favorite!

9. Dear America Series, by multiple authors (especially, West to a Land of Plenty by Jim Murphy and The Great Railroad Race by Kristiana Gregory).  I tried to read them all and owned a few that I will forever keep. All are told from the voices of young girls, making the historical settings accessible and interesting while also addressing universal issues of growing up.

10. Harry Potter Series, by J. K. Rowling. I vividly remember getting this book as a Christmas present when I was 11 years old, the same age as Harry in the first book, and hiding myself away to read it in a matter of hours. I felt like I grew up with the characters as the books were released and it will always have a special place in my heart. I believe everyone should read this.

Remembering all the wonderful books that made such an impression on me at a young age put me in a great mood! Give them a shot if you haven’t read them and definitely give them as gifts to the lucky children in your lives. They’ll thank you later.

What books made you love reading?

4 comments

Leave a Reply

