Top Ten Tuesday Rewind: Books I Wish I Could Read Again for the First Time

This is a Top Ten Tuesday Rewind, hosted as always by The Broke and the Bookish. For this rewind, I chose the topic “Books I Wish I Could Read Again for the First Time,” because we’ve all had books that held us spellbound on the first read. Whether it’s the dramatic plot twists and turns, or because you fell in love with the book while reading it, these books cast a sort of magic spell that just can’t be experienced the exact same way on a second read. So here’s a list of some great first reads.

Top 10  Best First Reads

1. And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie. Best twist ever. I haven’t read a book yet that surprised me as much as this one. I’ve even read it multiple times already knowing what happens – it’s that good!

2. The DaVinci Code, by Dan Brown. This is just a non-stop, exciting read, but it’s really the only one on this list I can’t see myself picking up again now that I know what happens.

3. The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. This book starts off with a twist and the suspense and action just never stops.

4. Stormdancer, by Jay Kristoff. There’s a few twists in this book to keep you on your toes as well as an interesting world to discover.

5. Cinder, by Marissa Meyer. This entire book was unexpected, from the crazy futuristic sci-fi approach to a familiar fairy tale, to the great characters and plot twists.

6. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, by J.K. Rowling. As I mentioned in my post last Tuesday, I vividly remember reading this book for the first time. This book IS magic.

7. Wizard’s First Rule, by Terry Goodkind. This is a long, well-written fantasy novel with an amazing world and characters that really just took me by surprise the first time I read it.

8. The Rose Garden, by Susanna Kearsley. Kearsley writes the most magical, romantic, and atmospheric settings that really draw you in and make you feel like part of the story.

9. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, by Holly Black. I don’t remember reading such an intense opening chapter in a very long time.

10. Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell. I love the characters and how spot on everything was about this book. I didn’t expect to love it and it’s one of my all time favorites now.

5 comments

  1. And Then There Were None was an awesome book. Luckily, I read it after I knew there was a twist, but before I knew what the twist was. Very cool and inventive – and it’s no surprise that it remains one of Agatha Christie’s best known books. Not that I’m gloating… but I believe the next book I read will be Cinder. Can’t wait and it sounds totally awesome. My top ten list is here: http://pagesofstarlight.blogspot.com/2014/02/top-ten-series-i-have-yet-to-finish.html

  2. Great pick! I would love to go back in time and start the Harry Potter series over again, it’s amazing and gave me one of the best childhoods. I would also love to read Hunger Games again for the first time. Still need to read Cinder and Fangirl, I’m really excited for both. Nice list My TTT.

Leave a Reply

