Top Five Things on My Bookish Bucket List

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted, as always, by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish.

This week features the top things on our bookish bucket list. This can be related to either book goals or blogging goals, and I decided to make it a list of my goals for 2014.  My list is short this week since I’ve had guests in town and we’ve been busy having fun, so below are my five, bookish bucket list goals for this year:

TTT 3-24-14

1. New 2014 reading goal: 100 books! At the beginning of 2014, I set a yearly reading goal for myself of 52 books. Now I’m laughing at myself for setting such a measly goal. I’ve never actually counted the number of books I’ve read in a year, and so I dramatically underestimated what an appropriate goal for myself should be – so I’m upping it to 100. That should be a genuine challenge for myself.

2. Finish three unread books from last year that I don’t want hanging over me any longer: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut, and Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. It’s a random assortment of reads that I set down for various reasons and never picked back up, so now I just want to finish them and move on with my life.

3. Read at least 5 non-fiction books to broaden my horizons. I don’t usually pick these up because I’m worried they won’t hold my attention, but I have read great memoirs and historical accounts before so I know I’m probably missing out on some great non-fiction reads. Top on my list is Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai, but other than that I’ve got no ideas. Suggestions?

4. Read some of the fantasy series and stand-alones that I have been putting off for years in favor or newer, more exciting reads.  This includes, Frank Herbert’s Dune and The Great Book of Amber by Roger Zelazny, as well as the more recent Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss’s A Wise Man’s Fear.

5. Keep improving the blog! I now have my own domain name, nomoney4books.com, and there are other improvements to come. I also want to keep improving my reviews, making them informative and fun to read at the same time, and get caught up so that I’m putting up reviews of books I’ve read more recently.

 

14 comments

  1. I think it’s really important to expand our genres that we read. Before blogging, I only ever used to read one genre. I’m happy I’ve opened my mind a bit to trying new things, but I could always improve on this! Great goals 🙂

    1. Good to know! I’m not sure why I’ve yet to finish it; I think just because of its intense subject matter I’ve been slightly intimidated. But I am looking forward to reading it soon.

  2. Great list! 100 books isn’t too hard, as long as you set aside some time for reading. Once it is a priority, it works out. I am reading Night Circus right now and loving it. I also try to read 5 nonfiction books. There is so much great narrative nonfiction being published now. I Am Malala is on my list. I highly recommend Unbroken.
    I read Mistborn, but need to get onto the next book in the series and need to read Wise Man’s Fear too.
    We share a lot of the same goals! Best of luck with yours.

    1. I’ll have to take a look at Unbroken. I don’t know why I’m so bad at picking up nonfiction books but I know I’m missing some good reads with that habit! Glad to know you’re liking Night Circus, I think I’m going to re-start that one soon and give it a fresh read. 🙂

  3. I would love to talk to you about building your blog, switching to your own domain, etc sometime… it’s been something I’ve been contemplating, primarily because I really want to continue growing my blog and I know many have said they wished they had made the switch sooner. But I’m pretty clueless beyond the basics and have no idea where to look for the information. My email is bookjunkiekrystal@gmail.com if you ever feel up for discussing blogging and/or books 🙂

Leave a Reply

