Delirium, by Lauren Oliver

What I’d Pay: $8

To sum it up: In a world where love is treated as a curable sickness, a teen prepares for the operation that will take away her ability to love or feel any strong emotion.

This book is good, but I think I’m too burnt out on YA dystopian novels at the moment to really enjoy it.

The setting is unique: society has found a way to “cure” the sickness of love by taking away people’s ability to feel strong emotions. It’s supposed to make everyone happy and eliminate a lot of conflict, however, it becomes obvious through interactions between the characters that it mostly just dulls emotions until people lose much interest in anything. The main character can’t wait for her own operation, believing she will be happier afterwards, but (un)fortunately for her she manages to meet an adorable guy a few months before her operation and becomes love-sick. For the most part, I liked the characters and appreciated that the romantic connection between the two main characters wasn’t insta-love, but ultimately it was predictable and I was bored by the end. I knew how it would all play out a few chapters into the story, however, I do attribute much of my lack of enthusiasm to the fact that I’ve read a lot of dystopians recently and I need a break. I can definitely see why people really liked this book in general, there’s good action and some suspense, as well as a cute romance and an interesting setting. However, I also went ahead and read some spoilers and reviews of the next two books in the series (stop reading NOW if you don’t want to know anything) to see if I wanted to pick them up for later reading, and it seems like many people didn’t like the progression of the series. Apparently the ending is not popular with reviewers, which alone wouldn’t deter me from reading, but there is also the development of a love triangle and that is just the nail in the coffin for me. I’m over love triangles, too overdone in my opinion.

Bottomline: This is a good YA dystopian and if you’re familiar with the genre and like it, then you will probably like this one. It’s a unique idea, with a little romance and good action. I bought this during a Kindle daily deal for just a few dollars, so I’m not disappointed in the purchase, but not enthusiastic enough at the moment to get the next installment.

Leave a Reply

