Negative Nancy Time 4/25/14

 

grumpycat

I have noticed that I have a tendency to post reviews for books I like and ignore the ones I don’t. Because really, who wants to dwell on the duds when there are so many great books out there? So in order to devote most of my time reviewing and sharing with you all the great books I read, I’ve decided to condense mini-reviews of the books I dislike into single posts. That way we can move on to better reads that much faster. From the start of 2014 to now, here are the five reads that have made it onto my Negative Nancy list:

NN 4-25-14

The Mad Scientist’s DaughterCassandra Rose Clarke. What I’d pay: $3. At first I thought the premise of this book was interesting: super advanced robots in the future fighting for recognition as people. But, this book really lost me along the way. There were huge jumps in time with no indication of what had been going on during those gaps, and yet despite these jumps the plot moves excruciatingly slowly. Also, the main character becomes a manipulative, selfish person as she grows up. SPOILER ALERT: Another character actually moves to a colony on the moon just to get away from her, and it’s completely understandable.

Sacred, by Elana K. Arnold. What I’d pay: $4. This book was very strange and disjointed. It started out dealing with teen depression and eating disorders, then suddenly introduced a character with supposed super powers and switched to a fantasy-super hero type of story, and then brought in religious mysticism towards the end. It was so odd and just confusing. I’ve never read another book that had a plot at all like this one, and it didn’t really work.

For Darkness Shows the Stars, by Diana Peterfreund. What I’d Pay: $6. This book was not terrible, which is why it has the highest rating of the 5 on this list, but there were a few major elements that really got under my skin and ruined it for me. I actually liked the world the author created and in the beginning I enjoyed the story. But the constant abuse of the main character really was overdone, and after awhile I was so frustrated that she wouldn’t stand up for herself. By the time she finally did something proactive to defend herself, it was way too late for me and I just wanted the book to be over. Also, the nasty characters who were dishing out all this abuse never really got punished and that is a major pet peeve of mine. Overall, I was not satisfied with the characters or the ending and it really frustrated me.

Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Sideby Beth Fantaskey. What I’d Pay: $4. You can’t always judge a book by it’s cover, but I should have gone with my first instincts on this one: not good. All I can remember about this book is that I didn’t like a single character and I really disliked the way the plot progressed. I usually write notes down about a book so that I can recall details when I write review later, but I wrote nothing down for this one because I never intended to spend any time reviewing it. So, that’s all I have to say unfortunately. Or maybe, fortunately.

Vampire Academy, by Richelle Mead. I DNF-ed this book so I’m not even going to give it a rating. I stopped about a third of the way into the book because I was just really struggling to care about the characters. I thought both of the main characters were annoying, and while the author’s take on the vampire world was unique, the teen melodramatics that guided the plot forward were not. I can definitely see why this series is very popular, but it is not at all what I look for in paranormal or fantasy books.

 

 

4 comments

  1. Aww… you didn’t like Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side? It’s one of my favourite YA vampire novels. I actually really liked the characters (especially some of the minor ones, like Dorin).

    I feel like I’ve been a Negative Nancy for much of this year. I’ve read some real stinkers in 2014 (including one book that — if I recall correctly — received my lowest rating of all time). I hate DNF-ing… especially when I’ve paid for a book. Luckily, most of the books I’ve bought recently have been inexpensive or discounted e-books… so I won’t have wasted too much money if I don’t finish.

    1. Yeah, unfortunately Jessica’s Guide just wasn’t my cup of tea. 😦 However, speaking of YA vampire novels, have you read Coldest Girl in Coldtown? I did love that one, it was great! And I have to agree that DNF-ing a book and being a Negative Nancy is no fun, I’d much rather enjoy every book I pick up, especially when I pay for them! Luckily for me, all of the ones on this list were library books so I dodged some bullets there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

