Top Five Books If You Like the New Star Trek Movies

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the amazing Broke and Bookish!

This week’s theme was “Top Ten Books if You Like –” and we could fill in the blank with any movie, TV show, etc. that we wanted. I actually had a hard time thinking of a topic for this fill in the blank. I wanted to feature the great sci-fi books I’ve read recently, so I decided the new Star Trek movies best match the content and feel of this set of books. I wouldn’t call myself a true Trekkie, but I have seen my fair share of the Star Trek series and movies. I grew up watching Star Trek Next Generation and the original Star Trek on VHS thanks to my parents, and enjoyed the movies. But I absolutely LOVE the two newest Star Trek movies and have seen them so many times it’s not worth counting anymore.  Star Trek in all its forms has definitely contributed to my love of sci-fi in general. So, here are the most recent sci-fi books I’ve read that fans of space travel, aliens, mystery, and action should definitely enjoy.  This week features a shorter list, only five books, since real life is getting busy this month and cutting into my blogging time, so it goes.

TTT 4-28-14

1. These Broken Stars, by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner: This book takes place on an alien planet after a spaceliner crashlands, and the two main characters are not as alone on the planet as they thought. Features creepy aliens, romance, and lots of action.

2. Across the Universe and 3. A Million Suns, both by Beth Revis: The first two books in a trilogy, these center on a spaceship full of people headed to establish a human civilization on a planet lightyears away. The hundreds of years they’ve spent on the ship have not all been good ones, and the dark mystery surrounding their voyage makes for a suspenseful read. While neither of these books take place on an alien planet, they are in space and headed to an alien planet, so I think they deserve a spot on this list.

4. The Ophelia Prophecy, by Sharon Lynn Fisher: This book takes place on earth, but features some advanced futuristic technology and some genetically-engineered insect-humans that do not consider really themselves human. That come across as very alien-like and makes this a great sci-fi read.

5. Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card: The fight between humans and aliens is central to the plot, although the focus is really on Ender and his personal struggles as he trains to fight. This is an action-filled scifi that was recently turned into a movie, though I haven’t seen it yet. Have you?

9 comments

    1. I can’t wait to get the third book from the library to see how it concludes. I had a bit of a hard time getting through the first one, because the intro was so exciting and then the story slowed down considerably, but I really liked the plot and was excited with where they took the second book. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. I love love Star Trek especially TOS and New Trek so when I saw this post I couldn’t have clicked my touchpad harder. Your list is really interesting and your suggestions completely changed my opinion on These Broken Stars, which I didn’t plan on reading at all because it seemed like a typical YA romance books with sci-fi mixed in.
    Oh and I’ve read Orson Scott Card’s book and the way it turned out was completely unexpected I had to stop reading to stare at the ceiling for a while. I’m glad it made the Star Trek list.

    1. Well, to be honest, I tend to like a little romance in books and there is a solid dose of romance in These Broken Stars, but for the vast majority of the book the focus is entirely on the survival story and figuring out the mystery on the strange planet. If you can get past the first couple annoying chapters to the point where they crashland on the planet itself, the story gets much more interesting and suspenseful very quickly and the romance becomes secondary. In fact, the only real “romance” scenes are towards the end of the book and you could easily skim over them. I definitely think it’s worth a shot to see if you can stand the romance element for the great, creepy atmosphere of the book and the sci-fi story.

      I’m glad you liked the list! in fact, one you might like that didn’t quite make the list was one I just finished called Expiration Date. I’m going to be reviewing it later this week, but it’s a YA about a young girl growing up in a world where robot children have replaced human children due to crashing reproduction rates and asks what it means to be human vs. robot. It’s told in diary format, moves along relatively slowly, and some parts do get a little teen-angsty, but the ending pretty much blew me away. So if you’re looking for something new that’s sci-fi, I definitely recommend that. Thanks for stopping by!

    1. Never seen Star Trek?! You are missing out, seriously. Even if you don’t know the old Star Trek series very well, the newest movies are amazing and action-packed and funny, so I’d say give them a shot one time. 🙂

      1. I think I’ve always had this thought that to watch Star Trek…you need to have been at least acquainted with the show to some degree. But if that’s not the case, guess I need to get myself a copy!

  2. The only one of these I’ve read is Ender’s Game. Haven’t seen the movie yet, though (or the new Star Trek movies)… I’m very behind in my movie watching!

    1. Well as a big fan of the recent Star Trek movies I highly recommend catching up on them! They’re great even if you aren’t a huge fan of the older series. I keep meaning to watch the Ender’s Game movie but I always seem to end up reading something new in my free time instead… One of these days I’ll get to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

