Top Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the awesome Broke and Bookish!

This week’s topic is about books we almost put down, but eventually ended up finishing. Sometimes I am happy I managed to finish a book that I almost set down, and other times I wish I’d gone with my first instincts to move on to another book. There are books that fall in both of those categories on this list. I also included a few that I have set down for quite awhile, but fully intend to get back to and finish!

TTT 4-15-14_!

3 Books I Wish I Had Put Down:

1. The Dark World, by Cara Lynn Shultz: This was an alright book, but ultimately disappointed me. If I had not received it for review purposes, I probably would’ve set it down during a major break in the action and not picked it back up. I wasn’t very attached to the characters and didn’t feel differently by the end of the book.

2. Obsidian, by Jennifer L. Armentrout: I really disliked the leading man in this book, as I discussed on a Top Ten Tuesday awhile back, and I wish I’d gone with my instincts to set the book down about half-way through instead of finishing it. It was not my cup of tea at all.

3. The Mad Scientist’s Daughter, by Cassandra Rose Clarke: I really disliked this book. If you want to see my thoughts on it you can check out my mini-review by clicking on the title. I kept wanting to set it down and not look back, but I pushed myself to finish it for some reason. Afterwards, I wish I hadn’t bothered.

TTT 4-15-14_2

3 Books I am so glad I Picked Back Up:

4. Across the Universe, by Beth Revis: I set this one down for about a week because the beginning was pretty slow, and debated whether I would finish it at all. I did, ended up really enjoying this book and reading the rest of the series.

5. Throne of Glass, by Sara J. Maas: This was another one that didn’t really draw me in during the first few chapters, but I persevered anyway because it is very popular with many bloggers I read. I’m so glad I did because, although it isn’t one of my favorite books, it ended up being really great!

6. The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss: This book is amazing. I can’t believe I almost missed out on it just because it is very long and has a bit of a slow start. I set it down for awhile before I picked it back up again, and I’m so glad I didn’t let this one go!

TTT 4-15-14_3

4 Books I Put Down for Now But Intend to Finish:

7. Lexicon, Max Barry: I got this as a library book, didn’t finish it in time, and now I’m back on the loooong waitlist. So, I didn’t really set the book down by choice since I had to return it, but I won’t be able to finish it for awhile now (sigh).

8. Slaughterhouse 5, Kurt Vonnegut: I bought this book a few years back and never got around to reading it. I have been reading it on my infrequent bus trips the last month and intend to finish it soon!

9. Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern: I bought this to read while traveling a couple years ago, and when I didn’t finish it on the trip I put it down for later. Which became much, much later. Anyway, I intend to finish it before the end of this year.

10. Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafon: I bought this a few months ago and started reading it immediately, but got sidetracked and didn’t continue it. I actually loved the few chapters I read and I think I may just read this one slowly in order to savor it longer.

 

9 comments

  1. I wasn’t the biggest fan of The Night Circus. I’m glad that I finished it, but I think I went into it with too high expectations. I intend to read Throne of Glass soon, so I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    1. I think I had the same problem with Night Circus, which might be part of the reason I haven’t finished it yet. I was surprised how much I enjoyed Throne of Glass since it has a couple elements I don’t usually like in YA books, but it ended up being an exciting book.

  2. I have heard amazing things about Patrick Rothfuss, makes me want to try some of his books. Across the Universe is one that I really want to read, happy to see that you enjoyed that one in the end and finished the whole series. The Dark World and The Mad Scientists Daughter are two I don’t want to read, so pleased you didn’t like them as it makes me feel better about not giving them a go. Nice picks 🙂 Here’s my TTT.

    1. I really can’t say enough good things about Patrick Rothfuss – his books are just amazing. They are also verrrrry long, so you kind of have to prepare yourself for an epic journey. 🙂 And I really recommend Across the Universe if you’re into sci-fi and YA at all, it ended up being really good overall. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Oh, I think I remember seeing The Dark World on Netgalley and was pretty indifferent with the premise. I get irked by major breaks in action as well, especially when a random break in a suspenseful pacing is thrown into the mix. Glad you enjoyed Lexicon while you had it (and hope that you get around to finishing it soon).

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

