Top Ten Books I’m Going to Read ASAP (As-Soon-As-Published)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the awesome Broke and Bookish!

This week is a freebie so we can choose whatever top ten topic we want. I decided to go with the top ten books I can’t wait to read as soon as they get published. Some of them are continuations in series that do not come out until much later this year or next year, others are by authors I love that sound great, and a couple that just look really interesting.  It can be so difficult to wait for books, and this topic gives me a chance to talk about them with all of you before they’re even here! I know I can’t be the only one anxiously waiting for some of these amazing books, so leave a comment below if some of these are on your read ASAP (as soon as published) lists! Here they are in order of publication date:

TTT 52714-1

TTT 52714_2

1. The Iron Trial, Holly Black and Cassandra Clare: Sept 9, 2014. I am a big fan of Holly Black’s previous books and this middle-grade series written by her and Cassandra Clare looks like it could be really great. There’s magic!

2. Endsinger, by Jay Kristoff (Lotus War #3): Sept 23, 2014. I absolutely love this series and this is the final installment in the trilogy. I am practically counting down the days till I can get my hands on it. The author has promised a tragic, tear-filled ending so I admit I’m a little bit apprehensive. If he kills off Buruu, the thundertiger, I just… ugh. I have no words for that possibility. Let’s just hope that’s not the way it goes down – I may not recover.

3. Company Town, by Madeline Ashby: Sept 30, 2014. This one peaked my interest, although the short description on Goodreads doesn’t say an awful lot. I first saw it mentioned on a post, On The Smuggler’s Radar, over at The Book Smugglers. If you don’t know their blog, you should check it out especially if you like sci-fi – they’re amazing. Anyway, this looks like it’ll be a really different sci-fi read.

4. The Mime Order, by Samantha Shannon (The Bone Season #2): Oct 21, 2014. Loved the first book and can’t wait for the second book! It wasn’t exactly a cliff-hanger ending, but so much was left up in the air and a key character was missing at the end of the book… so I can’t wait to see what happens next.

5. Beware the Wild, by Natalie C. Parker: Oct 21, 2014. This looks like a creepy YA thriller with lots of mystery and romance. I originally heard about it on another blog that mentioned looking forward to reading it, but unfortunately can’t remember where! But, thank you anyway, mystery blogger, for bringing this to my attention since it looks like a fun read.

6. Darkest Part of the Forest, by Holly Black: Jan 13, 2015. I am so excited for this one! Holly Black is one of my favorite authors who excels at writing appropriately dark and creepy books with fairies (like Tithe) and vampires (Coldest Girl in Coldtown). This one also involves dangerous fairies – I can’t wait!

7. Winter, by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles #4): February 2015. This is one of my favorite series ever and this is the final installment. It’s sad to see it coming to an end but I can’t wait to see how it all wraps up. And this one is supposed to take place on the moon – finally!

8. Illuminae, by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff: Fall 2015. Two of my favorite authors, Amie Kaufman of These Broken Stars and Jay Kristoff of the The Lotus War series) are teaming up to write a book that has beautiful cover art and a fascinating description that says it’s like a mash-up of Battlestar Galactica and Ten Things I Hate About You. How strange and wonderful does that sound? I am SO excited for this book.

9. Heartless, by Marissa Meyer: Fall 2015. The author of my favorite Lunar Chronicles series is writing this – a prequel to Alice in Wonderland that tells the story of the Queen of Hearts. This one has absolutely no cover art on Goodreads but Marissa Meyer does have a Pinterest inspiration board for the book if you can’t wait for more details.

10. The Missing, by Sara Beth Durst (Lost #2): No publication date set because the first book only comes out today, gah! This is the second in the series, and you can see my review for the first book here. Now I just have to wait a very long, undetermined amount of time to find out what happens next.

10 comments

  1. I am so excited about Winter because I loved the rest of the series. Also, I really can’t wait for Heartless to be released because it sounds really interesting. 🙂 Great list!

  2. Oh my goodness. I love the sound of Heartless. I want it NOW! I didn’t know anything about it, so I’m thankful for your list. I can’t wait for Winter either. I think Beware The Wild sounds great too.

  3. I want to read a lot of these myself. The one that I am most eager to get to is definitely Beware the Wild, I’ve had my eye on that one for the longest time now. I hope you manage to get to them all 🙂

Leave a Reply

