Top Ten Books That Should Be in Your Beach bag

As always, Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish!

For me, summer is the perfect time for light-hearted stories with happily ever afters. I love to relax by the pool or beach with a book that makes me laugh, has some romance or suspense, and an ending that wraps everything up perfectly. Here’s some that I’ve read and a few that I plan on packing in my own beach bag this summer!

TTT 6-3-14_1 TTT 6-3-14_2

1. Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, by Ann Brashares. This book (and series) takes place over the summer between a group of friends that are separated for the first time in years and have to deal with some life-altering experiences while apart. They stay connected through phone calls, letters, and most of all, an amazing pair of pants they mail to each other over the course of the summer. It’s a fun YA series and a perfect summer read.

2. Unleashing Mr. Darcy, by Teri Wilson. This is a modern re-telling of Pride and Prejudice (if you couldn’t tell from the title character) that also features some adorable dogs. If you’re a dog-lover and a sucker for romance, then this is a quick read that’ll keep you entertained even though you already know the story. I picked it up the other day after seeing it recommended on The Broke and the Bookish– and I definitely enjoyed it!

3. I’ve Got Your Number, by Sophie Kinsella. This was another cute romantic comedy that features some cell phone shenanigans. This is the only Sophie Kinsella book I’ve read, but I’ve also heard great things about her Shopaholic series and might add those to my summer beach bag as well.

4. Anna and the French Kiss, by Stephanie Perkins. This is a YA coming-of-age story about a girl who moves to Paris for her senior year of high school. The characters are very lovable, and overall it was just an adorable story with a believable romance that develops over time.

5. Anything by Jennifer Crusie. She writes some great romance novels and the reason I enjoy them so much is that every one I’ve read has legitimately good plot lines and characters. They are definitely romance novels with some R-rated scenes, but if you also prefer your romances with a modern setting, comedy, and a well-developed plot and characters, then look no further. Charlie All Night is a great one to start with and she even has some paranormal ones as well, like The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes and Wild Ride.

6. Bridget Jones’s Diary, by Helen Fielding. This is one I haven’t read, but I’ve seen the movie so many times I finally realized it’s silly I haven’t read the book. It’ll definitely be in my beach bag this summer.

7. Keeping the Moon, by Sarah Dessen. I read and loved this book one summer in high school. It is set in the summertime, which makes it a perfect YA coming-of-age story for summer reading.

8. Tithe, by Holly Black. This is the first Holly Black book I ever read, again during one summer in high school many moons ago. I loved her dark and creepy take on a fairy tale and have pretty much loved everything else by her ever since, like Coldest Girl in Coldtown.

9. The Rose Garden, by Susanna Kearsley. This is another author whose books I love. Β Her books typically feature time-travel, romance, and lovely historical settings and details. All of them are good, but this one is probably my favorite.

10. Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn. I can’t believe I still haven’t read this one! It’s the only suspense/thriller that made it on this list, but I don’t tend to read those too often.

 

 

22 comments

  1. Tithe is on my to read list this summer, and I loved Anna and the French Kiss so much.

  2. I adore Jennifer Crusie. You’re right, any of her books are perfect for the beach. I hope she releases something new soon, I’m running out of books by her to read.

  3. I read Gone Girl last summer and couldn’t put it down! Good idea to read it now before the movie comes out. I don’t think you’ll be sorry you took ANNA to the beach either. Enjoy all your summer reading adventures!

  4. Gone Girl just pulls you in! You won’t want to stop reading it until you finish — highly recommend for a vacation or lazy summer weekend. πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve been curious to try “Tithe” so I’m glad that you liked it! Also, Sisterhood used to be a summer staple for me back in middle and high school- I would read the entire series at the beginning of every summer break. Great list!

Leave a Reply

