Top Five Cover Elements I Like

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

This week’s topic is about the cover trends or elements we like.  This list will probably look very similar to the list back in May about covers that we’d frame as art. There are definitely books listed on here whose covers fall into multiple categories, but I decided to choose just one feature that I liked the most about each cover to highlight.

1. Covers with vibrant, dramatic colors:

TTT 62414_1

1. These Broken Stars, by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – I love the colors on this cover in particular. The vibrant green and dramatic billowing of the dress against the starry backdrop is just stunning.

2. A Mad, Wicked Folly, by Sharon Biggs Waller – In this case, it is another bright, billowing dress that creates a dramatic pop of yellow on this cover.

3. The Lost, by Sarah Beth Durst – I love that this cover uses only bright blue and white, very simple, to make a dramatic statement.

2. Covers with simple, but striking, images:

TTT 62414_2

3. Angelfall, by Susan Ee – The muted blues and golds not only complement each other and highlight the wings, making the cover striking in it’s simplicity, but they also set the tone for the apocalyptic, dark atmosphere in the novel as well.

4. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, by Holly Black – The single image of the cold, white hand keeps this cover simple but very creepy since the hand looks like it might be dead…

3. Covers that reveal things about the story:

TTT 62414_3

5. Monsters of Templeton, by Lauren Groff – The vignettes on this cover refer to characters in the story and the tree it is set on directly relates to the family tree that the plot is based on. Love that the cover is basically an artistic representation of the story.

6. Cinder, by Marissa Meyer – The covers of the entire Lunar Chronicles series are all amazing, but this one has so much detail in just the image of the cyborg foot that tells you about how different and unique this book is before you even open it. This is one of those covers that falls into many categories on this list, which probably explains why I love it so much.

4. Covers with lots of detail that need a second look:

TTT 62414_4

7. Cruel Beauty, by Rosamund Hodge – I will admit, though it’s embarrassing, that I did not even notice the rose intertwined with the staircase at first. I just saw the staircase. Though that is me being especially unobservant, I loved being able to see new things in the cover ever time I look at it.

8. Endsinger, by Jay Kristoff – While each of the covers in this series have lots of detail, the cover of this third and final installment has a very full  background featuring images of some of the main players in the final conflict. I spent a lot of time just looking at this cover to make sure I really saw everything.

5. Covers with overlays, embellishments, and patterns:

TTT 62414_5

9. The Golem and the Jinni, by Helene Wecker – I haven’t read this one yet, but I absolutely love the cover with it’s muted colors and lacy overlays on the corners, and lots of detail in the image.

10. Alias Hook, by Lisa Jensen – The very complicated pattern combined with the simple color palette on this cover makes it so unique and interesting.

11. Jackaby, by William Ritter – From the blue colors to the Victorian-esque portrait with the city scene and the overlaid title, I love this cover so much. It might even beat out These Broken Stars as my favorite on this list!

7 comments

  1. I love that you included covers with a lot of details! It’s so interesting to go back and look at them and find something new every time! Also, that dress on the cover of a Mad, Wicked Folly is mesmerizing.

  2. You’ve including some really great elements, and covers! I was particularly drawn to The Monsters of Templeton. I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but I’ll definitely be looking a little further in to that one.
    🙂

    1. That one is definitely a great read. It’s very unique and full of emotion – I’ll be reviewing it in a few weeks but definitely check out the book, I totally recommend it.

Leave a Reply

