Top Ten Classic Books I Have Read and Still Want to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

This week’s topic is the top classics we’ve read or still want to read. There are so many great ones I love and so many I still want to read, that I could’ve done an entire top ten list for both topics, but I limited myself to my 5 favorite classics, and 5 that I most want to read. Here they are:

5 Favorite Classics I’ve Read:

TTT 7114_1

1. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, by Betty Smith. This is the first book I read as part of my high school curriculum, and it really affected me. The characters and the tone of the book have really stayed with me ever since, and I mean to do a re-read of this one sometime soon.

2. Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen. Her works aren’t always the easiest to read, but Austen’s dry humor, funny and lovable characters, swoon-worthy romance, and witty commentary can’t be beat.

3. The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald. This is another one that I read in high school many years ago and just loved. It was sad, but there was something about it that really struck an emotional cord for me. It’s been popular lately with the recent movie adaptation, but the book is a whole different beast and if you haven’t read it, you definitely should.

4. And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie. I don’t know if many people consider mysteries to be classics, but I absolutely love them and this is my favorite by far. I’ve read it multiple times, even though I already whodunit, and I’ve even bought copies as gifts for people.

5. Where the Red Fern Grows, by Wilson Rawls. I’ve read this book multiple times because I love it, even though it makes me cry buckets of tears every time.

Top 5 Classics on my TBR:

TTT 7114_2

1. The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexandre Dumas. I started this one a couple years ago, had to return my copy, and never finished it. But, I intend to in the next couple months!

2. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, by Arthur Conan Doyle. I have listened to part of this collection on audiobook, but as a fan of the British TV show, I feel like I should read all of the books.

3. Alice in Wonderland, by Lewis Carroll. After reading Splintered by A. G. Howard, which is a fun and modern story set place in Wonderland, I feel the need to read the original book.

4. The Giver, by Lois Lowry. I’m still not sure how I didn’t read this when I was younger, but I would like to now.

5. Dune, by Frank Herbert. I already own a copy of this sci-fi classic, but just haven’t read yet.

 

 

9 comments

  1. I really enjoyed And Then There Were None – its definitely a classic in my eyes.

    If you liked Splintered then you should read Alice in Wonderland. Was Splintered an easy read without Alice in Wonderland knowledge? I wondered how it would be for someone who hasn’t read it.
    🙂

    1. I was definitely able to enjoy Spintered without having read Alice in Wonderland (the author explains enough that you can follow along), but I have seen the children’s movie so I was mostly familiar with the characters and storyline of Alice. That said, I kind of wish I had read Alice beforehand, since I think more of the details and symbolism in Splintered would’ve been obvious to me.

Leave a Reply

