These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner: Guest Post by Mel @ Reviews in a Pinch

Guest post2

Today is the second, and final (for now)  installment of our Round Robin Guest Posts!

Mel from Reviews in a PinchKrystal from Books Are My Thing, and I are each going to review a book for a guest post on each other’s blogs. We are going to do this twice so we each post on each other’s blogs once. For the first round, we each read books by Stephen King – check out our reviews of Firestarter, Doctor Sleep, and The Eyes of the Dragon.

For this second round, we each recommended a book to each other that we enjoyed but might be slightly out of the other’s comfort zone. I chose These Broken Stars for Mel, since she often reads sci-fi and fantasy, but tends to prefer zombie books. I thought the intense survival story and suspenseful atmosphere would appeal to her love of all things zombie, though this book features aliens instead! Check out my review of The Monsters of Templeton over at Books are My Thing and Krystal’s review of Until the End on Reviews in a Pinch.

… and here’s Mel!

Hello No Money 4 Books readers! I’m Mel from Reviews in a Pinch and I am extremely excited to be a guest here today. I typically read and review any and all books I can get my hands on.  I like to read a little bit of everything.  Not just to be well-rounded, but also because I get bored quickly when I continuously read from the same genre.  Now that I’m done rambling, here’s my review of Ali’s recommendation:

These Broken Stars 

 by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Overview:  It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

My Thoughts:  I will freely admit that I haven’t read a ton of sci-fi.  Fantasy, yes.  Sci-fi, not really.  It seems like most sci-fi books just get really weird, so I get bored and stop reading.  So when Ali from No Money 4 Books recommended These Broken Stars for me, I may have groaned after reading the overview.  I should have trusted her judgement though.

The plot was interesting, if a little predictable.  It’s obvious from the beginning that it’s a love story.  I think it’s also mention in one of the overviews that I read or maybe that was just on the back cover.  My point is that you know the main characters will get together, so that’s not a spoiler.

So the romance aspect wasn’t wholly original, but the rest of the plot was.  It sucked me in and kept me reading.  The entire time my mind kept trying to race ahead and figure out exactly what was going on.  I feel like that’s a mark of good writing when you continue reading in order to figure out what the heck is going on.

The characters were hot and cold for me.  I really liked Tarver and could relate to his way of doing things.  I loved that he was so succinct and managed to get things done without a fuss.  Lilac on the other hand annoyed me to no end, until about half way through the book.  The characterization was well done, but she still irritated me.

Overall, I really liked These Broken Stars.  I will admit that I was disappointed at the end, but it was still a worthwhile read.  I would recommend These Broken Stars and have even already gotten someone else to read it.

Note to self:  Lesson learned.  Listen to Ali, without complaint, in the future.

4 out of 5 Bookmarks = I really liked it, but it was weirder than anticipated.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

these_broken_stars.jpg

One comment

Leave a Reply

