Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

This week’s topic is books we aren’t sure we want to read. Some of them are books I’ve heard great things about but the plot summaries make me a little wary, and others are continuations of series that just didn’t thrill me with the first books but I think might get better over time. As with the last few weeks, please feel free to comment but excuse my inability to respond as I am out of town with no internet!

ttt1ttt2

1.The Truth About Aliceby Jennifer Mathieu- I’ve read lots of good reviews of this one, some of them stellar actually, but I don’t typically like plots based on rumor-mills and lies which is what the summary of the book sounds like. It kind of just sounds like a lot of high school age drama to me, but a lot of people love it so then again I’m not sure.

2. The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison – I am intrigued by this one and Iv’e read some great reviews for it, but after reading a sample I’m worried it’ll be too slow for me to really keep reading the entire thing. Still haven’t decided if I will try it.

3. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith – This is one that gets a lot of good reviews, but often YA contemporary romances are hit or miss with me. I haven’t decided if I’ll give this one a shot yet.

4. Cursed by Jennifer Armentrout – I read Obsidian by Armentrout earlier this year and didn’t enjoy it – in fact I really strongly disliked one of the main characters and it kind of ruined the book for me. But, she is a very popular author and so I’m on the fence about giving another book of hers a shot.

5. Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy – I loved the premise of this one, but then I read a few reviews that the main character is decidedly bitchy. I don’t typically like books where I really dislike the main character, so it kind of put me on the fence about reading this one.

6. The Distance Between Us by Kasie West – I’ve seen this pop up on many top ten lists in the past so it’s probably good, but the summary just sounds so cliched to me that I’m not sure if I will actually like it.

7. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas – I did enjoy the first book in the series, Throne of Glass, but not so much that I had to rush out and grab the next book. I think I will like the second book more based on some things I’ve heard, but I’m just not sure I want to invest the time.

8. Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor – This series gets rave reviews but I wasn’t a huge fan of the first book, so I’m not sure if I want to invest more time in the series but I also kind of hope that it gets better.

9. Asunder by Jodi Meadows – I read the first book in this series and mostly liked it, but haven’t felt an urgent need to pick up this second installment.  Haven’t decided if I will finish the series or not.

10. Darkness by Erin Eveland – I actually got this as a free copy from the publisher, but it is so much scarier and creepier than I was expecting! I’m a wimp and I don’t know if I can handle it, it’s totally creeping me out, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to finish it.

7 comments

  1. Great list! The Truth About Alice is about the rumour mill, so if you don’t like that sort of thing, then I wouldn’t overly recommend it. It is a quick read though. I wouldn’t really recommend Side Effects May Vary, that book was such a let down for me.

  2. I feel exactly the same as you about Side Effects May Vary, I’ve seen so many bad reviews of it. The Throne of Glass series definitely gets better as it goes on, so I’d definitely recommend you try Crown of Midnight. 🙂

  3. Cursed is kind of like the Shatter Me series, as in the girl can’t touch people but that is really the only similarity. I thought it was an amazing book, yet I also loved the Lux series, especially Obsidian so I’m not sure whether it’s because I enjoy Jennifer Armentrout’s work or the book is genuinely as good as I thought. Then again, it’s a matter of opinion. But I also really enjoyed the Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. I would honestly suggest reading it.

  4. If you truly didn’t enjoy Daughter of Smoke and Bone that much (I’m shocked!), you may not want to bother with Days of Blood and Starlight. I loved it, thought the writing was better than DofSaB, but it’s a very emotional and often depressing middle book.

  5. I really want to read The Truth About Alice; I usually don’t like high school drama either, but I think that this one is actually told from the other people’s perspectives, it might be a little different.
    My TTT

Leave a Reply

