Top Five Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But Need to Read More

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish!

This week’s topic is about authors whose work we definitely need to read more of – and this week I’m keeping it short since I’m just getting back in the swing of things after my travels. It’s good to be back!

ttt1

1. Neil Gaiman – I’ve only read Good Omens, which was co-written with Terry Pratchett, and it was a really unique book. I am in the process of reading The Ocean at the End of the Lane right now, and it’s making me want to read even more by Neil Gaiman.

2. Dean Koontz – I am finishing up Innocence at the moment, and I already want to read more by this author. The mood he created in this particular book is very haunting and creepy, and his phrasing makes me constantly stop and re-read beautiful sentences multiple times.

3. Carlos Ruiz Zafón – I read The Shadow of the Wind during my travels last month, and I absolutely loved Zafon’s writing style. It was humorous, insightful, sometimes sad, and just a wonderful read. This is another author where I found myself stopping, re-reading things, and even highlighting things I loved so I could find them again later. The book also made me cry multiple times, both happy and sad tears, and I can’t wait to see what else this author has to offer.

4. Stephen King – Ever since reading The Eyes of the Dragon during our Round Robin reviews with Mel @ Reviews in a Pinch and Krystal @ Books Are My Thing, I have wanted to read more Stephen King. I’m not very interested in the long, creepy novels of his, but more of the fantasy series.

5. Lauren Groff – This is another author that I read as part of our Round Robin reviews, and I really enjoyed her book, Monsters of Templeton. It’s one of those insightful books that keeps popping into your mind after you’ve finished it, so I’m looking forward to reading other things she’s written.

 

7 comments

  1. My husband is a big Stephen King fan. I’ve read a few books of his but never really got into them that much. He’s now recommended I read the novellas in Different Seasons so I think I might try this soon.

  2. All great picks (I can’t speak for Lauren Groff since I don’t know her but all the others!)! That was also my first Neil Gaiman book and he didn’t disappoint me in other novels. Dean Koontz is one of my favorite authors (the Odd Thomas series especially) and I definitely recommend you read more. Zafón is beyond brilliant – you must read The Angel’s Game, the sequel to The Shadow of the Wind, it’s one of the greatest books I’ve ever read. With King I’d suggest you try some of his short stories anthologies (like Just After Sunset) since you seem to also enjoy some horror but don’t want to read his full novels (personally I prefer his short stories!).

    Good readings! 🙂

Leave a Reply

